The International Society for Laser Dentistry (ISLD) is a dental organization that promotes professional excellence in the use of lasers through scientific research and education. ISLD is striving to enrich the knowledge of its members and to elevate the scientific research, practice, and teaching to its highest levels, and to disseminate this knowledge throughout the world in order to improve the dental health standards. Among other goals of ISLD, the society is motivated to cultivate and foster international professional relationships and cooperation with scientific organizations from other fields of dentistry and with universities in the fields of laser research and development. ISLD serves its members as a nonprofit organization, which follows exclusively charitable purposes, without beneficial interests and where its financial means are restricted for statutory purposes only. The society encourages membership of dentists and scientists who are interested in research, teaching and the clinical use of laser technology related to dentistry, biology, medicine, and surgery.

The ISLD was established in 1988 and its first world congress was held in Tokyo in the same year. Since then, world congresses were held every two years in Paris (1990), Salt Lake City (1992), Singapore (1994), Jerusalem (1996), Hawaii (1998), Brussels (2000), Yokohama (2002), São Paulo (2004), Berlin (2006), Hong Kong (2008), Dubai (2010), Barcelona (2012), Paris (2014), Nagoya (2016), and in Aachen, Germany (2018). In 2008 the name of the organization was changed from ISLD (International Society for Laser Dentistry) to WFLD (World Federation of Laser Dentistry). Ten years later in 2018, during the world congress in Aachen, it was decided to approve new bylaws which will respect the vision, the spirit and the values of the organization in its early days as ISLD and accordingly to reestablish ISLD in its new form.

Executive Board

Prof. Marcia Marques


Prof. Georgi Tomov


Dr. Dimitris Strakas

Secretary General

Dr. Ralf Borchers


Dr. Youssef Sedky

Member for Public Relations

Dr. Miguel Martins


Dr. Aslihan Üşümez


Dr. Masoud Mojahedi


Prof. Norbert Gutknecht

Honorary President

Prof. Lynn Powell

Honorary President

Prof. Adam Stabholz


Organization Board
(Congresses and Public Relations)

Leon Vanweersch

Dr. Dimitris Strakas

The controller (International Society for Laser Dentistry e.V., Deutschland would like to use the following services in order to process your personal data. Technologies such as cookies, localStorage, etc. can be used for personalization. This is not necessary for the use of the website, but allows us to interact with you more closely. Please select, if appropriate, the following options: